Agricultural Commission

AAgriculture.PNGThe Agricultural Commission’s purpose is to support commercial agriculture and other farming activities in the Town of Amherst.

The Commission’s duties include:
  • Promoting agricultural-based economic opportunities.
  • Acting as mediators, advocates, educators, and/or negotiators on farming issues.
  • Working for the preservation of agricultural lands.
  • Pursuing all initiatives appropriate to creating a sustainable agricultural community.
  • Reviewing and advising on development proposed in farmland areas, as may be permitted under zoning and other development regulations.

Agendas & Minutes

Most Recent Agenda | All Agendas
Most Recent Minutes | All Minutes

* Agricultural Commission meetings are held the second Tuesday of every month at 7 p.m. in the First Floor Meeting Room, Town Hall (unless otherwise noted on the agenda).


Year Appointed
Term Expires
Cynthia Banfield-Weir 2016 2019
Glenroy Buchanan 2014 2020
Rebecca Fricke 2013 2018
Masoud Hashemi 2017 2020
Ryan Karb, Chair 2015 2018
David Machowski 2018 2020
Stephen Schreiber - Non-voting Plng Brd Rep 2014 2018
Doug Slaughter - Select Board Liaison    
 Vacancies (3)    
  * The Agricultural Commission is composed of 9 members and 1 non-voting Planning Board Representative. Members are appointed by the Select Board for 3 year terms.