Human Rights Commission

A joint statement from the Town Manager, Police Chief, and School Superintendent

Our Mission

To ensure that no power goes unchecked, and that all citizens are afforded equal protection under the law.

The Human Rights Commission shall act to promote the Town of Amherst’s Human Rights Policy, to insure that no person, public or private, shall be denied any rights guaranteed pursuant to local, state, and/or federal law on the basis of race or color, gender, physical or mental ability, religion, socio-economic status, ethnic or national origin, affectional or sexual preference, lifestyle, or age for all persons coming within the Town of Amherst. 

The Commission shall advise the Town and assist the Town Manager and Human Resources and Rights Director in the achievement of affirmative action/equal opportunity objectives, conduct and participate in educational activities related to its responsibilities, provide mediation, and review matters brought to its attention. 


Human Rights Commission meetings are open to the public and are generally scheduled from 5:45 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. on the third Thursday of the month, summer excluded.  Please check the Town calendar for date and time of the next meeting. 

Human Rights Events Calendar 2019


 Name Appointed Term Expires
Matthew Charity, Chair 2017 2022
Sidonio Ferreira 2015 2022
Cedric Gonnett 2020 2023
Elizabeth Haygood 2020 2023
Benjamin Herrington 2019 2021
Erika Loper  2020 2023
Petua Mukimba 2019 2022
Deborah Neubauer 2019 2021
Gazit Chaya Nkosi 2019 2021
Jennifer Moyston, Staff Liaison    

Appointed by the Town Manager: 9 members / 3 year term

How to Become a Commission Member

Commissioners are Amherst residents appointed to rotating 3 year term. If you are interested in becoming a Commissioner, please complete and submit the Community Activity Form. In addition to Commission meetings, membership involves networking with other social justice groups, planning and conducting public events, advocacy, and promotion of the mission. At full capacity, the Commission has nine members.