Tobacco and Vaping
*New June 1st: It is a Massachusetts law: as of June 1, flavored tobacco, including menthol, is no longer sold in corner stores, grocery stores, gas stations, or other retail outlets. For details go to:
New Tobacco and Vaping Law
There are important new requirements for the sale of tobacco products in Massachusetts, as of December 11, 2019 because of Baker’s new law: An Act Modernizing Tobacco Control.
There are two types of retail store that sell tobacco in Amherst.
- 1. Non-Age-Restricted Stores: Such as convenience stores, gas stations and liquor stores.
- 2. Adult Only Retail Tobacco Stores: (entry by persons over the age of 21 only)
The following restrictions are in effect now:
1. Non-Age-Restricted Retail Stores:
- Cannot sell any flavored electronic nicotine delivery systems such as flavored e-cigarettes and flavored vaping products.
- Cannot sell electronic nicotine delivery systems with nicotine content greater than 35 milligrams per milliliter.·
- Can sell non-flavored electronic nicotine delivery systems with nicotine content 35 milligrams or less per milliliter.
2. Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Stores
- Cannot sell any flavored electronic nicotine delivery system, such as flavored e-cigarettes and flavored vaping products.
June 1, 2020:
Both types of retail stores that sell tobacco, Non-Age-Restricted Stores including convenience, liquor stores, and Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Stores:
Cannot sell any tobacco products that have a characterizing flavor (e.g. menthol cigarettes and flavored cigars and chewing tobacco) or tobacco product flavor enhancer.
This is a summary, only, and not the full text of the regulation. The full law can be found at https://www.mass.gov/guides/2019-tobacco-control-law
Get Support to Quit Cigarettes or Vaping
The most effective way to quit cigarettes, vaping devices, or other tobacco products is to use FDA-approved medicines and coaching support together. It takes most people multiple attempts to quit for good. Keep trying! Follow these steps:
To start, plan ahead
- Pick a quit date to stop smoking or vaping. Ideally, plan 2-4 weeks ahead, but you can start sooner if needed.
- Use the time before your quit date to gradually cut back and to start making changes to your routine to help you handle withdrawal symptoms and triggers. Triggers are those certain times, places, people, or feelings that make you want to smoke or vape. Withdrawal symptoms are temporary and can last up to a week.
Talk to your doctor and ask your health plan about medicines to help you quit
- A combination of FDA-approved medicines and coaching support can triple your chances of quitting for good.
- Many medicines help with withdrawal symptoms and are not addictive. Some, like the nicotine patch or gum, are available over the counter without a prescription.
Go to the Quit website or call the Massachusetts Smokers’ Helpline at 1-800-QUIT-NOW for free support and advice to help you quit.
· Residents will receive $10 after completing the first coaching call, $15 after the second coaching call, and $25 after the third coaching call.
· If residents enroll online, they must complete coaching calls via telephone to receive the incentive(s).
· This incentive program may be time limited pending utility and availability of funds.
· In addition to the incentive program, up to 8 weeks of free Nicotine Replacement Therapy is also available to residents who speak with a coach (once screened for medical eligibility).
· Patients are also encouraged to take advantage of the Helpline’s full offerings including a total of 5 coaching calls, unlimited calls to the helpline, and online support.